AWS Certifications-Types

Cloud Computing

AWS Certifications-Types

AWS Certifications

aws certification trainingAWS certifications demonstrate the skills to design and manage software solutions on Amazon’s ultra-popular cloud platform.

Simply put, cloud computing is the on-demand, pay-as-you-go distribution of IT resources over the Internet. Amazon Web Services (AWS) is the world’s leading cloud platform and provider of these resources.

As more and more businesses move traditionally in-house services to the cloud – to reap benefits like reduced costs and increased efficiency – those with skills and certifications in the latest cloud computing solutions – especially those from AWS – will enjoy a wide range of job opportunities and top-tier salaries.

Benefits of AWS Certification

There are numerous advantages to becoming AWS certified. Amazon Web Services certifications…

  • validate your skills and knowledge in the preeminent cloud computing platform.
  • are consistently listed among the top paying info-tech certifications worldwide.
  • garner more interviews for aspiring cloud specialists, and higher wages once hired.
  • are recognized industry-wide as reliable and well-designed tech credentials.
  • demonstrate credibility and dedication to your cloud computing career path.
  • provide access to a network of like-minded peers and AWS thought-leaders.
  • require recertification which ensures that your AWS skills remain current.

Why do Businesses use AWS?

Companies use AWS cloud computing solutions for a variety of business needs. This ever-growing list includes web and application hosting, big data storage and analytics, backup and disaster recovery, custom projects in emerging areas like IoT and more. Organizations that successfully integrate AWS solutions realize benefits like increased efficiency, cost-savings, greater speed, tighter security and easier scalability.

AWS Certifications List

Amazon Web Services credentials fall into 2 main categories: Core Certifications and Specialty Certifications.

AWS core certifications span three knowledge areas: architecture, development, and operations, and are offered in 3 skill levels: foundational, associate, and professional.

AWS specialty certifications validate advanced expertise in targeted IT disciplines, such as information security, big data, and networking.

Let’s break down these categories and the certifications available in each:

AWS Core Certifications

Here is a closer look at AWS’ core certifications:

AWS Certified Cloud Practitioner – Foundational

AWS’ baseline credential serves as a broad-strokes introduction for cloud technicians, or as a standalone credential for non-technical job roles that require a basic understanding of the Amazon Web Services cloud, such as managers, sales and marketing associates, and C-suite executives.

AWS Certified Solutions Architect – Associate

Amazon’s most popular AWS certificate, and a common entry-point for those entering the cloud architecting space, this credential demonstrates your ability to design and deploy effective solutions on the Amazon Web Services platform. This certification is intended for individuals who can design distributed applications in AWS.

AWS Certified Developer – Associate

This AWS development certification validates your ability to design and maintain AWS applications. It is intended for software developers with one or more years experience designing and sustaining an application on the AWS platform. Candidates should also possess a deep working knowledge of at least one high-level programming language.

AWS Certified SysOps Administrator – Associate

This Amazon Web Services administration credential demonstrates expertise in deploying, scaling, migrating and managing AWS systems. SysOps certification exam candidates are recommended to have at least one year of hands-on experience managing cloud applications on the AWS platform.

AWS Certified Solutions Architect – Professional

This certification demonstrates advanced expertise in the design of distributed systems and applications on the AWS platform. Candidates for this certificate are required to hold the AWS Solutions Architect Associate cert, and are recommended to have 2+ years of experience in the design and deployment of cloud architecture on Amazon Web Services.

AWS Certified DevOps Engineer – Professional

This advanced AWS certificate validates knowledge in provisioning, management, security and operations of AWS solutions. Candidates are required to have either the AWS Certified Developer OR AWS Certified SysOps Administrator associate credentials before sitting for this exam. 2+ years of experience provisioning and managing AWS environments is also recommended.

AWS Specialty Certifications

Popular AWS specialty certifications:

AWS Certified Big Data – Specialty

This certification demonstrates the skills to design and manage AWS solutions that can help organizations extract valuable insights and actionable intelligence from their business data. Exam candidates must have at least one of the 3 AWS Associate certs listed above, and are recommended to have 5+ years experience in data analytics.

AWS Certified Advanced Networking – Specialty

This AWS specialty certificate validates the skills to design and deploy AWS as part of a hybrid IT network architecture, to scale. Candidates need to possess one or more of the AWS Associate credentials listed above, and should have 5+ years of hands-on experience architecting and managing enterprise network solutions.

The cloud services market is hyper-competitive and evolving rapidly, and AWS is continually launching new products and services to stay on the cutting-edge. With new solutions comes new certifications to validate IT professionals’ skills in their use; this page will continuously be updated as new AWS certifications are released.

For more information on Amazon Web Services certifications including detailed exam blueprints, visit the official AWS certifications page.

AWS Certification Salaries

In the short time since the Amazon Web Services certification program launched in 2013, AWS certified pros already rank among the highest paid IT certification holders. According to a recent salary survey from Global Knowledge, the average wage for AWS certified individuals is $113,932.

Here is a breakdown of average salary by AWS certificate :

  • AWS Certified Solutions Architect – Associate: $119,233
  • AWS Certified Solutions Architect – Professional: $116,838
  • AWS Certified Developer – Associate: $116,456
  • AWS Certified DevOps Engineer – Professional: $108,315
  • AWS Certified SysOps Administrator – Associate: $111,966

Source: 2019 IT Skills & Salary Report by Global Knowledge

AWS Lifecycle & Recertification

To keep your AWS credentials current, recertification is required every two years. This is a brief period compared to many other certifications – even in the fast-paced world of tech – as Amazon is constantly adding features and services to AWS to stay ahead of the rapidly evolving cloud market. AWS recertification consists of either advancing to the next level of your AWS certificate, i.e., Associate to Professional, or taking a recertification exam for your current credential at a reduced cost.